Multan Sultans’ latest triumph set a new record in PSL history

Analysis Knight Rider

Multan Sultans’ latest triumph set a new record in PSL history

Multan Sultans’ latest triumph set a new record in PSL history
Multan Sultans, the defending champion, amassed the second-highest total in Pakistan Super League history on Friday, en route to a record-breaking 117-run victory over Quetta Gladiators.

The Sultans racked up 245-3 after winning the toss and opting to bat first, led by captain Mohammad Rizwan's (83 not out) fifth half-century of the season and Rilee Rossouw's 71 off just 26 balls.

Last year, Islamabad United set a PSL record with a total of 247-2 against Peshawar Zalmi in Abu Dhabi.

The Gladiators were bowled out for 128 in 15.5 overs against Sultans’ pace and spin, with Umar Akmal striking a quickfire 50 in 23 balls. On the other hand, the only other batters who reached double digits were Jason Roy (38) and captain Sarfaraz Ahmed (17 not out).

Shahnawaz Dahani and David Willey, both fast bowlers, finished with matching statistics of 2-22. Meanwhile, Khushdil Shah and Asif Afridi, both left-arm spinners, each took two wickets. The Sultans had previously held the record for the biggest triumph in the PSL when they defeated Quetta by 110 points in Abu Dhabi last year.

The Sultans’ excellent run in the tournament has continued, with the team now having 16 points after losing only one match out of nine. With six points from nine matches, the Gladiators are in the bottom part of the table, with only one match remaining on Sunday against the last-placed Karachi Kings. With a century stand in the first 10 overs, the in-form opening duo of Rizwan and Shan Masood (57) lay the basis for a large total.

After Masood was caught leg before wicket in the 12th over by towering Pakistan international fast bowler Mohammad Irfan in his maiden PSL match this season, South Africa's left-hander Rossouw smashed boundaries at will.

The Sultans scored 81 runs off the last five overs against expensive fast bowlers Sohail Tanvir (0-52) and Ghulam Mudassar. Rossouw hit nine fours and four sixes (1-56). Noor Ahmed, the spinner, was also not spared, concluding with a score of 0-52.