Ranjan Madugalle makes his PSL debut this season

Analysis Knight Rider

Ranjan Madugalle makes his PSL debut this season

Ranjan Madugalle makes his PSL debut this season
The seventh edition of the PCB's premier tournament will be placed in Karachi and Lahore from January 27 to February 27. ICC chief match referee Ranjan Madugalle makes his HBL Pakistan Super League debut in this high-profile event.

The former Sri Lanka cricketer represented his country in 21 Tests and 63 One-Day Internationals. This is within the period from 1979 until 1988. He also participated in 125 Twenty20 Internationals as a referee. He has refereed 201 Tests and 370 One-Day Internationals since joining the ICC's elite team of match referees in 1993.

The seasoned referee has been a frequent visitor to Pakistan on international commitments. Madugalle's most recent visit was in January 2020 for three Twenty20 Internationals against Bangladesh.

The thrilling encounter between Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars, which will be contested in Karachi on Sunday, January 30, will be Madugalle's debut match in the season. Madugalle will take charge and oversee the Playing Control Team for this game.

The 62-year-old will take part in nine of the preliminary round's 30 games. His participation is required to support and assist Pakistan's aspiring umpires and match referees.

Madugalle will be joined by Roshan Mahanama. Mahanama is a former teammate who has previously worked as a referee in the HBL PSL.

Mahanama will also take part as a referee for 9 games. This includes the tournament-opening on January 27 against Karachi Kings and Multan Sultans. On-field umpires will be Aleem Dar and Richard Illingworth. Additionally, with third umpire Ahsan Raza and fourth umpire Imran Jawed.

Ali Naqvi, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Mohammad Javed Malik from the PCB's elite team will be the other 3 event match referees.

Aleem Dar, Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth, Ahsan Raza, Asif Yaqoob, Faisal Khan Afridi, Imtiaz Iqbal, Imran Jawed, Nasir Hussain, Rashid Riaz, Shozab Raza, and Waleed Yaqub will be the umpires for the match.