Delhi Capitals retention list took Robin Uthappa by surprise

Analysis Knight Rider

Delhi Capitals retention list took Robin Uthappa by surprise

Delhi Capitals retention list took Robin Uthappa by surprise
Rishabh Pant, the captain of the Delhi Capitals, as well as budding opener Prithvi Shaw and Axar Patel, were among the Indian players retained ahead of the mega-auction. With some prominent absentees on the list, the side chose South African speedster Anirch Nortje as their single overseas retention.

Shikhar Dhawan was replaced with renowned bowler Kagiso Rabada and off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who had been a key part of the team's efforts in the previous two seasons.

Robin Uthappa, who played for Chennai Super Kings in the last edition of the league, was taken aback by DC's announcements prior to the super auction.

Shaw and Dhawan, according to Uthappa, might well have made a good opening combination for Delhi Capitals in IPL 2022.

Uthappa told Star Sports that definitely in regards to Shikhar as he has been doing a fantastic job for them and it's a given. He also said that Kagiso Rabada seemed like an easy choice to him.

Uthappa commented that the team would effectively have their fast bowling set up if they have both Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje. He then said that after that they will only need two more Indian fast bowlers then they will have their bowling roster done nicely. He added that this combination will make a lethal and winning line-up.

The 36-year-old also mentioned that it is widely known that Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan can be quite destructive, so the news that they have parted ways with one of them is shocking.

The Delhi Capitals have also let go of Shreyas Iyer, who led the team until an injury knocked him out of the first part of the IPL 2021 season earlier this year. When Iyer rejoined the team for the second stage of the tournament in September/October, Pant retained his captaincy.

In the previous three seasons, DC had qualified for three consecutive playoffs, reaching their first final in the 2020 edition.