Perth Scorchers crown WBBL champion 2021

Analysis Knight Rider

Perth Scorchers crown WBBL champion 2021

Perth Scorchers crown WBBL champion 2021
In a remarkable player of the match performance, star all-rounder Marizanne Kapp overcame a week of sickness to lead the Perth Scorchers to their first WBBL title.

The Adelaide Strikers wilted in the scorching Perth heat, losing 12-run to the team in orange in front of 15,511 fans at Optus Stadium — the largest record attendance for a solitary WBBL match.

Kapp scored 31 not out to help the Scorchers reach a difficult goal of 147. She then helped defeat the Strikers with 1-25 from her four overs with the ball, with 17 of those runs coming in her fourth over with the game already all but won.

After sorrow in both the WBBL02 and 03 deciders – when Kapp was coincidentally rocking Sydney Sixers colours – it was a case of third time lucky for the Scorchers. During the seven seasons of the WBBL, the Scorchers had only missed the finals once.

The Scorchers wreaked havoc in a catastrophic powerplay in which the Strikers lost both openers for pennies on the dollar and only achieved 16 runs.

Tahlia McGrath (36) and Madeline Penna (30 not out) offered some resilience, but the visitors' innings ended with too much ground to make up.

The Strikers won the bat flip and chose to send Perth in, with Beth Mooney (19) and Sophie Devine (35) putting on the most successful WBBL opening partnership of 52 before the wickets began to fall.

Kapp, with key contributions from Heather Graham (23) and Alana King (14 not out off just 5 balls), led the home team to a 5-146 victory.

The Weber WBBL final at Optus Stadium on Saturday was the most-watched contest in the league's history, and Big Bash president Alistair Dobson says the event is the roadmap for the league's next development into primetime.

It was also the largest crowd to watch a WBBL finals match, surpassing the 10,069 who watched the Scorchers and Sydney Thunder in the WBBL|03 semi-final (part of a double-header with the men's KFC BBL).